A New Type of Learning by x3erica1037
08.26.09, 12:51 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Now that I can officially say I survived my first week, I feel like I have a tiny bit of insight into the REAL life of a college student, and it’s a life I’m definitely starting to enjoy. The activities of orientation were fun and successfully moved everyone past their awkward, shy stage.

At this point, we’re all starting to experience what will become our normal routine, and get into what we’re essentially all here for – classes. All my classes have had one session so far and I can honestly say I’m very happy with my schedule. I find that I’m interested in all my areas of study and what the professors have to say. I noticed that college learning is different than high school learning in that high school teachers tend to teach facts to memorize and tell you how to do everything, whereas college really teaches you how to think, and discover things on your own.

That being said, I’ve already had a ton of work to do outside of class. I’ve found that I like doing my work in public places rather than my room, so I’m able to socialize a little while I study. Monday I brought my work to the laundry room so I had something to do while my clothes were being washed. I realize I will need more quiet study time as we get closer to exams, but the multi-tasking works for now. It’s all about time management.

-Erica


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment